Clean Sweep

Well, I did it. I just “unfollowed” a whole bunch of people on That Certain Social Media Site. Yesterday, for some reason (could it be the weather?), seemed to be a day for a couple of people to become conspicuously unpleasant on that site.

For example, one person announced that she was going to rant. She made it clear from the beginning, in case any of us had any doubt, that she was going to offend people and she didn’t care.

Well, my goodness. Why didn’t she  just update her status in all-caps and declare “I DON’T CARE ABOUT YOUR FEELINGS! I ONLY CARE ABOUT MINE!” Because that’s pretty much the subtext when you decide you’re going to rant on social media.

The subject of her rant? Parents in our community who have the effrontery to apply to send their children to our district’s most desirable elementary school. How terrible of people to take advantage of the school district’s interenrollment policy. Without even giving their home school a try!

Joy. It’s back to school time, and time for parents to get all judgy on other parents about what decisions they make about where to send their kids to school.

Guys: It is fully none of your business. You have no freaking idea what motivates people to make the decisions they make about where they send their kids to school. You are being arrogant when you judge other people, and assume that you know why they’re doing what they’re doing. You don’t.

I probably don’t need to clarify that I didn’t actually say any of this on That Certain Social Media Site. People can post whatever nonsense they wish there, and that’s fine. I’m not into starting flame wars.

That’s what this blog is for. My sarcastic alter ego gets her voice, right here on this precious little blog of mine.

I just “unfollowed” her. People have every right to say whatever they want on social media.

Just don’t expect me to listen.

Love you & leave you,

Hobbie DeHoy

2 comments

  1. I confess I unfollowed and later unfriended a couple of people because they posted so many things that my timeline was no longer my own. I could get twenty straight posts asking me to adopt every stray cat in NYC before I got to one friendly or interesting post. So a slightly different reason, but a parallel one I think,

    1. There are so many reasons, aren’t there? Since facebook is always changing things up anyway, I wish they would come up with an algorithm that only shows you one status update per person per day. I do enjoy hearing from one friend of mine, but unfortunately, as you note, she posts about every twenty minutes and that’s more than I want to know. Thank you for letting me know I’m not alone in feeling this way!

Leave a Reply

