The Slacker Express

I’ve been noticing lately that a lot of the bloggers I follow are talking about Current Projects. She’s working on a short story, he’s on the second chapter of a draft for a novel, and so forth. And National Novel Writing Month is coming up in November, so I imagine I’ll be hearing even more on these topics as we journey further into autumn.

I am feeling like a complete and total slacker. Why?

Guys: This blog is my writing project. It’s really all I’ve got. I’m hoping that plodding along writing blog entries will improve my writing somewhat, but who really knows?

My bar is low: either I’m writing blog entries, or I’m not writing at all. That’s how it is for Hobbie DeHoy, who occasionally suspects that her passion for reading crowds out all other passions, especially writing. You know the piece of writing advice that tells you if you want to write, you should read? Well, I seem to have that part down. It’s moving on to the actual process of writing that seems to be the problem.

There are some things that make me feel better. One is, some writers don’t become published until way later in life than I have yet achieved (I just turned 43. A prime number! I love those.). For example, Laura Ingalls Wilder was in her sixties when her Little House books came out. Another feel-better is, my friend Sandy who published a book after her kids went to college and told me that she never could have done it while her kids were living at home. And Sandy is brilliant, so there is yet hope for me. A third feel-better is reading the blogs of the admirable Jenny Lawson and John Scalzi and realizing that they have been blogging for years.

So who am I to be hard on myself after a mere six months of blogging?

Oh, right. Being hard on myself is something I do even more often than reading. It’s very easy to do. Very.

Aw, maybe I’ll get a writing project going one of these days. Maybe not. When I do, you all will be the first to know.

Because you can bet I’ll be too self-conscious to tell anybody else.

Love you & leave you,

Hobbie DeHoy

4 comments

  1. I totally understand! I read about everyone else’s fantastic projects, and am happy for them. But, like you, all I’m doing is writing on my 2 blogs…and to me, that is a huge accomplishment…to have figured out how to do it, and that a few people are actually reading what I write! So, some may view it as being a slacker, but we are doing what we set out to do…write! Continued best wishes for you on your blog and writing journey! 🙂

      1. I agree…blogging is so much fun. I still have lots to learn, though. Like trying to put an image on my sidebar thing. Most computer instructions are over my head. I’m enjoying what I do get accomplished. I love reading your blog, and wish you continued progress in the future! Facebook is a whole other thing…mostly keeping up with family. 🙂

  2. Well, I’ve decided to focus on the text and not the images… I’d rather be writing than trying to fancy things up. I do think you are right and that I probably should make mine more pretty. Maybe on my one-year blogging anniversary!

Leave a Reply

