Stuck at 5,000

Yes! I am once again taking part in NaNoWriMo this year! Except, perhaps it’s more accurate to say I *was* taking part, because I hit 5,000 words and I was really proud and then I just got bogged down and bored with the whole thing and I stopped.

Still, I did learn something this month: I like writing fantasy more than I ever knew. In fact, I tried to put a more realistic family scene in my story, and I ended up just skipping the whole scene because I just didn’t care. I really had fun with the fantasy parts, though.

Except for the other thing I learned, which is that writing fantasy has its own set of challenges. I chose a by-the-seat-of-my-pants approach this year, just to see how effective that was for me, and I guess the answer is that I would do better to take some notes before I get started. If I’m creating a world that has its own backstory, I think I might have better momentum if I’m not trying to create the backstory at the same time I’m trying to push the plot forward. I start questioning whether or not my premise makes sense, whether it’s believable or not, and I’m pretty sure that’s where I got bogged down.

But, oh, look. See what I’m doing? If I have to create a backstory before I even start, I may not ever even get started. My gosh, my inner editor is loud, constantly yapping away and very hard to ignore.

I just need not to worry about it and Keep On Writing.

Ha. Easier said than done. I know, intellectually, exactly what I need to do (see above). It’s just doing it that’s the problem.

On the other hand, maybe taking on a big project like this isn’t the smartest thing at a time when I’m also conducting a job search. It’s very tough to put a lot of energy into TWO projects that make you feel insecure.

I guess that’s really why I decided that diving back into reading was a better way to handle my stress this month. Because that’s just what I did.

National Diving Into Reading To Alleviate Stress And Insecurity Month.

It’s got quite a ring to it. Don’t you think?

Love you & leave you,

Hobbie De Hoy

7 comments

      1. For me, I get all inspired about one particular writing idea, and I save it up for NaNo that year, doing a little outlining until Nov. rolls around. Then I go crazy and write like a madwoman! haha! But sometimes the muse doesn’t carry me through the month, so I take a break and finish it the next year or whenever.

        I won NaNo in 2009 and again in 2011, then I tried last year, but my inspiring idea fizzled out so I didn’t reach the word count. I still do a little writing here and there throughout the year when the mood strikes, but I never pressure myself too much about it.
        Taking it easy is the best way to get inspired, IMO. You gotta keep it fun! Love your blog!

  1. One way to do world building occurred to me as I wrote a fantasy in Camp NaNoWriMo last July, and it might come in handy for you if you want to try again the pantser way. I would get a little stuck, and would wonder how something got the way it was. I then wrote a vignette about the backstory for whatever was bothering me, and found it opened my eyes. By the end of the month, I knew the backstory for my novel, and even had the bare bones of an idea for a prequel. I just added the vignettes to the end of my writing for purposes of verification, since I had after all written them during the month. You might want to give it a try.

    1. Oh, thanks, B! I appreciate hearing about your experience…”world-building” sounds so, I don’t know, all-encompassing, doesn’t it? Maybe going back to a vignette when I get stuck might really help. Thank you!

      1. I ended up putting two of the vignettes, somewhat edited, into the book in the end because they fit neatly, once as flashback, and once as the source for a ballad. So you might even find use for them in the editing stage.

Leave a Reply

